top of page
gabaaramayo91

The Sketchbook Project

Updated: Mar 21, 2023

A project to create a sketchbook made by art teaching students in collaboration.


The Sketchbook project was created to share ideas and artwork that travel around and change the creator, which results in a collaborative sketchbook displaying the creative minds of future art teachers.

The participants have around one week to create an initial page, completing someone else's idea, a spread (two pages), and a new page with an idea that will be completed by the next participant. I had the privilege to start my class on this project, holding the sketchbook for two weeks due to spring break. This gave me plenty of time to brainstorm ideas and extra time to create!

Since I am the first one, I do not have any previous design to be completed. Although I made sure to create an amazing cover next to all the signatures of collaborative artists.


 

Materials

  • Recycle paper (Textured or patterned)

  • Black construction paper

  • double side tape

  • double side foam tape

  • white acrylic marker

  • Magazines (Art in America)

  • Sharpie

  • Xacto knife

First page

The initial page is next to the wall for signatures in which I added my name next to all the previous artists. On this page, I wanted to capture the lesson we discussed during class about Big Ideas in the curriculum. I feel looking at everyone's interpretation of the prompt "What do you make art about?" inspired me to interpret our big ideas as one cave collage.


Let’s Get Started

I started by laying some black construction paper as my new surface since I was trying to create a cave effect. I also started picking some paper patterns that resonated with the themes we talked about in class. Identity as stamps full of travel experiences, some connecting tubes for relationships, some words for the brainstorming process, and some plant stickers for nature.


Cutting Layers

I then began to lay the designs for the stickers to make them get out of the frame a little. I also ripped the paper instead of cutting it to give it an organic look. I made sure to increment the space I was cutting as I approached the outer layers.

Pasting and Decorating

Once I have the pieces ready, I began pasting the layers using double side foam tape, making sure all the necessary parts would stand out. I then added some letters floating around the layers reminding us of some of the themes.

I also added some extra stickers and wrote "Big Ideas" and "Meaningful Lessons".



 

Spread

For the Spread, I decided to create a pop-out that will represent a little gallery. In Chapter 6 of the book, we touched on art appreciation and encouraging students to support the arts. A place where we go to see art and that supports art overall is museums. Museum visits allow our students to be amazed at what they see and start to question what they see and if these things are art. I wanted to include works of art that are contemporary and spark a lot of questions for the viewers. Art appreciation displays itself in our ability to see and recognize beauty and art in all things.


First Things First

I began by laying some black construction paper as a new surface that covered the middle part in between the pages since it was important to have a more uniform space for the pop-out.

Then I started cutting works of art found in the Magazine "Art in America". I made sure to use the xacto knife when cutting sculpture works around.

I used gold paper I had to create frames for the pictures. I lay them all down to make better use of them and start cutting.


Creating the Pop Out Structure

For the pop-out structure, I cut out three strips of black construction paper of different sizes. Different sizes will allow for all parts to be viewed even when I put stuff on the front, like creating mountains. Then, I fold all stripes in the middle horizontally.

Next, I measured about 1in on one of the horizontal edges. I fold again in the middle and bend the paper where the lines are. I then cut the edges and repeat the process with the other two strips. These bent parts are attached to the paper.


Placement

Format After I had all pieces done, I began drafting where all the artwork would go. I made sure to alternate between painting and sculpture.

To make sure all works are visible I align the back row higher and the closer row can begin to touch the ground. I then paste all of the cut-outs and tested they could close without any parts sticking out.


Pasting.

I use double side tape to attach the wings created earlier to the page. I then started with the back row making sure the line is at an angle and the middle coincides with the middle of the spread too and paste it. I made sure the other wing with the tape was facing up then closed the right page so that it attaches to the perfect spot on the other page. I repeated this process with the other two rows increasing the angle as I went down.


Details

For the last details, I added some sculptures on blank spaces that pop out as well. I also added some questions to think about when looking at art that we can ask students to get them thinking. Lastly, I used the white acrylic marker to add a title and some designs.



 

Collaborative Page

For this last page, I thought about ways my next peer could add to it. I decided to go with a design of a girl studying a painting, keeping the theme of art appreciation and aesthetics. She also has some circles hinting at thought bubble perhaps?


Drawing

I began by sketching the girls with a pencil and when over it with a sharpie for the shadows and outlines. I then added the white lines hinting at the light.

Collage and details

To add the work that the girl is writing about I used some of the left-out paintings I had for the previous page. I used double foam tape to make the painting pop out a little.

To finish off I added some line details. After thinking about it for a little, I also decided to add some quotes that made a huge impact on how I perceive art and beauty from my aesthetics class last semester.



13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page